Pregame Thread: Countdown to wild card rematch of Bengals-Ravens

Anticipation is building as the Bengals look to recapture the magic of last year’s Super Bowl run.
The Cincinnati Bengals defenses lead by cornerback Tre Flowers (33) celebrates an interception...
The Cincinnati Bengals defenses lead by cornerback Tre Flowers (33) celebrates an interception against the Baltimore Ravens in the first half of an NFL football game in Cincinnati, Sunday, Jan. 8, 2023. (AP Photo/Jeff Dean)(Jeff Dean | AP)
Published: Jan. 15, 2023 at 6:18 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CINCINNATI (WXIX) - The Bengals host the Ravens Sunday night at Paycor Stadium. Game time is 8:15 p.m.

It’s a rematch of last week’s game, which the Bengals won 27-16 to secure homefield advantage for the wild-card rematch.

The winner of Sunday night’s game will travel to Buffalo next weekend.

Bengals wide receiver Tee Higgins and cornerback Cam Taylor-Britt, both hobbled with injuries this week, are listed as active.

The Bengals will start Max Scharping at right guard after starter Alex Cappa went down with an ankle injury last week.

Right tackle La’el Collins tore his ACL against the New England Patriots. Hakeem Adeniji has started in Collins’ place.

The Ravens will get a boost from the return of running back J.K. Dobbins, offensive lineman Kevin Zeitler, tight end Mark Andrews, one of the league’s best tight ends. Andrews sat last Sunday for rest.

Ravens quarterback Tyler Huntley is listed as active. Multiple reports suggest the Ravens will use both Huntley and third-string quarterback Anthony Brown in the absence of starting quarterback Lamar Jackson, who is out with a PCL sprain. Huntley has been limited in practice this week with shoulder soreness.

Cincinnati has never won a playoff game in consecutive years.

Joe Burrow could surpass Boomer Esiason’s record for most playoff wins in franchise history. Currently, Burrow and Esiason are tied at three.

The Bengals have tied a franchise-best win streak of eight games. No Bengals team has ever won nine games in a row.

[Bengals owner Mike Brown comments on Burrow staying in Cincinnati, coach Taylor]

See a spelling or grammar error in our story? Please include the title when you click here to report it.