Cincinnati State, OU announce nursing degree partnership

Cincinnati State's Clifton campus. FOX19 file photo
Cincinnati State's Clifton campus. FOX19 file photo

CLIFTON, OH (FOX19) - Cincinnati State Technical and Community College and Ohio University on Monday announced a new agreement that the schools say will give an alternative for registered nurses to get their bachelor's degree in Greater Cincinnati.

Cincinnati State and Ohio University said the agreement will provide students the opportunity to pursue a bachelor of science in nursing degree by completing up to three years of their higher education on Cincinnati State's campus and the remainder of their academic courses either at an Ohio University campus or through online learning.

Among the details in the agreement:

  • Starting immediately, Cincinnati State students who have completed an associate degree in nursing and earned their registered nurse licensure can apply to Ohio University to complete a bachelor's in nursing through the online RN-to-BSN program, which is accredited by the Commission of Collegiate Nursing Education.
  • While pursuing their bachelor's degrees, students will have the option of taking some of the required academic courses from Cincinnati State while they take others from OU.
  • In addition to convenience, the new program provides options for students who may not desire or be able to relocate by offering a considerable savings on the cost of tuition toward a bachelor's degree.
  • Students in the OU programs will pay the Cincinnati State tuition ($145.30/semester credit hour for in-state residents, $290.60 out-of-state) for any courses taken on a Cincinnati State campus. Ohio residents would pay $240 per credit hour for courses taken online from Ohio University; non-residents $243 per credit hour.
  • The partnership also streamlines transfer of credits, student services and financial aid activities for students in the program, facilitating the ability to move easily between the two institutions' systems.

Ohio University has six campus. They are in Athens (main), Chillicothe, St. Clairsville, Lancaster, Pickerington, Ironton, Proctorville and Zanesville, Ohio.

For more information about the partnership, visit .

Copyright 2014 WXIX. All rights reserved.