Cincinnati City Council bans travel to North Carolina, Mississippi over anti-LGBT bills

(FOX19 NOW/File)
(FOX19 NOW/File)
Published: Apr. 13, 2016 at 6:40 PM EDT|Updated: Apr. 13, 2016 at 6:49 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) - Cincinnati City Council approved to ban non-essential, city-funded travel to North Carolina and Mississippi over the anti-LGBT laws passed in those states.

According to a Twitter post by council member Chris Seelbach, the vote was passed 7-2.

The decision follows the passage of controversial laws in each state affecting the rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people.

Dayton, Ohio and Cuyahoga County near Cleveland has also banned travel to North Carolina.

FOX19 NOW will continue to update this developing story.

Copyright 2016 WXIX. All rights reserved.